Someday You’ll Think Back And…

smile-191626_640Hi Everyone!

I recently came across a donation campaign for a husband and wife who want to re-do their fifth anniversary that wasn’t so special the first time. Reading their story reminded me of a recent occurrence between my husband and I that in the moment was frustrating, but thinking back, it was truly hilarious.

It started off as a normal morning where I had just finished drinking my lemon water and was cutting up my vegetables for that night’s smoothie. My husband had just finished his shake and placed his bagel in our cheap, unreliable toaster. As he stood waiting for it to toast, his body decided that he had to use the bathroom at that very moment. Now instead of releasing the toaster until his return, he asked me to watch his bagel to make sure it didn’t burn. I of course agreed and proceeded to continue cutting my vegetables.

Now since he had just placed the bagel in the toaster, I took my time in checking it. And right before I did so, I smelled smoke and turned to see no smoke coming from the toaster, but when I popped the bagel out, it was in fact very burned. As soon as I turned to retrieve another bagel, the fire alarm went off. It wasn’t just an alarm that sounded off, but this thing was actually shouting “Fire!, Fire!” So, although there was just the smell of smoke in the air and no fire, I was still panicking, especially since it was 5:45am, and I didn’t want to wake the neighbors or make them think there was an actual fire in our apartment. I grabbed a dishrag, ran over to the smoke sensor and began whipping it helicopter style. Simultaneously, I was shouting for my husband to help me, and even though his response was “I’m using the bathroom!”, I continued, for whatever reason, to demand that he assist me with preventing this imaginary fire. Suddenly the bathroom door was thrown open and he waddles out, holding his pants around his hips. And instead of helping me (as if I needed it), he simply snapped at me and went back in the bathroom. I eventually did get the alarm to stop, and even though I was frustrated at my husband for his comments, I couldn’t get the image of his emergence from the bathroom out of my head. And each time I felt the irritation rise, I couldn’t help but laugh. My husband soon apologized and later asked if I had ever experienced a talking fire alarm going off unexpectedly as I was using the bathroom. No, I have not.

When we go through challenges or unexpected happenings in our lives, I truly believe that God has placed something in every single one of these moments to make us grateful and/or laugh. I hope that you, this couple, and myself can do that always.

Peace and Love,

Ariffa

If you’re interested in this couple’s story or donating, here is the link to their campaign site:

http://www.gofundme.com/asimpleanniversary

Posted on April 27, 2015, in About Me, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me what you think!